Beyond

 

I got a little carried away with this theme. Perhaps it’s because I haven’t posted in a long, long time, but somehow every picture I looked at fit the description of ‘beyond’ – I even cut out quite a few! I generally favor pictures taken with incredibly low aperture, which really emphasize the subject of the photograph, but I love it when fore and background play equal parts in telling the story. 
IMG_5466Benches overlooking the Alps, Rochers-de-Naye, Switzerland. This was one of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had- thirty of us gathered to hike from our West-facing Caux up to the highest point in the area to see the sunrise, a hike which began at 2 in the morning and totalled 13 miles. I snapped this one just before sunrise.
IMG_5572The view of Caux on our way home – sun up and exhausted.
IMG_6773A beautiful fountain in Basel, Switzerland. What’s beyond it? The slow-moving Rhine.
IMG_8580Thistle on a beach north of Beirut, Lebanon.
IMG_8505I took these two pictures on the same day, as well, and it was also one of the highlights of the summer. My dear friend Hady (the hand in the picture above) took me to his favorite spearfishing beach. We packed a cooler with Rose, ice, and snacks, and had one of the most beautiful and serene days I’ve ever experienced. Although I didn’t shoot anything, I did learn how to use a spear gun, and saw incredible underwater wildlife.

4 comments
  1. Pooja said:

    second one is very very nice…….

    • Thanks! I’m not sure if the photo quite captures it, but I was an entire valley away at the time, and had to use a 200mm zoom!

Leave a Reply

