Louisa attempts to get a life (and makes a plan): part 3

In September, I wrote a bit about the reverse culture shock of coming home from my big adventure and trying to re-create my life. Since I stopped writing those posts, it’s safe to say that I did successfully find myself again in California. I stopped watching hours of television during the day, started working at both jobs, took an art class, and even reconnected with friends I’d grown to love before I left. In the intervening months, it’s safe to say that I haven’t done much else – I’ve started adhering to a workout plan and took over the marketing at the wine shop, but besides that and my friends, not much has been happening. Until now.

gradschoolNow, dear readers, I have finally made myself a plan, and it certainly does feel good to be working towards a goal once again. Not only have I decided to train for a half-marathon, but I am applying to grad school. That’s right, this is actually happening. On February 20th, I start my official GRE prep class, and, until then, I am learning long, complex vocabulary words and writing personal statements for postbaccalaureate programs.

While I would never claim to enjoy studying, throwing myself into something, working towards a specific, concrete goal, is downright exhilarating. I’ve had these pre-made GRE prep cards sitting under my bed since I moved home in 2011 and I never made it past the C’s because there wasn’t a specific goal at the end of the GRE. Now, there is a goal, and it feels great to dust off my study habits.

So, here’s to starting again, and taking the first step on the long path that is a big-kid career.

2 comments
  1. rick4554@gmail.com said:

    Hey Louisa….I really don’t think acceptance into any grad school will be an issue for you. You just need to figure out which school you want to bless with your presence!!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

