Microwavable Masterpieces: chocolate chip cookies

Food is one of those rare and unique artforms which also serves a purpose. It draws people together, warms them up, and keeps them satisfied. Sharing a great meal can be a magical, transporting experience.

chewy-chocolate-chip-cookies

That said, I haven’t been one to make or share magical, transporting meals lately. Between 18 units of classes, an internship, my dog and a fledgling social life, cooking is one thing which falls by the wayside. The fact that I live in an “efficiency studio” (i.e., share a kitchen with everyone else in my building) doesn’t exactly encourage culinary artistry either.

In the few months that I’ve lived here, however, I have learned a thing or two about working with what you have, and creating something delicious out of nearly nothing, in almost no time – all with the help of the microwave. It may not be the artisanal, home-made goat cheese and peasant bread which Amy and I made last year, but it’s a heck of a lot better than ramen:

Single-serving cookie in a jar:

Ingredients:

1 T butter/butter substitute
2 T brown sugar
Vanilla
Salt
Cinnamon
1 egg yolk
1/4 cup flour
Chocolate chips

Melt the butter in a cup, bowl or jar from which you will eat, and mix in the brown sugar, vanilla, salt and cinnamon. Personally, I like my sweets a little saltier, so I am rather generous with the salt. Mix in the egg yolk and flour, a pinch (and I mean a tiny pinch!) of baking soda if you want some volume, and the chocolate chips. The original recipe I saw called for a mere 2 T of chocolate chips, but I am quite generous with them.

Once all ingredients are combined, pop back in the microwave and heat for another 30-60 seconds. Mine is usually perfect at around 50 seconds since I like the chocolate chips to be gooey. Remove from the microwave, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

